Berlin-founded and London-based Ulrika Spacek have announced the follow-up to 2016 debut, The Album Paranoia.

Modern English Decoration was recorded and mixed by the five-piece – Rhys Edwards (guitars/vocals/synthesiser), Rhys Williams (guitars), Joseph Stone (guitars/synthesiser/organs/violin), Callum Brown (drums/percussion) and Ben White (bass) – at their home studio, a shared house in a former art gallery, christened KEN.

“We started making this record as soon as we finished our first. Like our debut, we started with Track One on the album and went from there,” explains Edwards. “Making a batch of songs then ordering them after they’re all finished isn’t something we have much interest in. We enjoy listening to music through the album format and want our records to reflect that, though we may explore this in the future, our records are not ‘jam’ records. We’re fans of collage based art, and create music in the same way.”

‘Mimi Pretend’ is the opening track to Modern English Decoration and the first single to be shared from the new album (mastered by Noel Summerville), a self-effacing play on an interior design cliché that references the meticulous creative processes the band adheres to.

“This record was made in various rooms in our house, predominantly in the living room. Every part of the album reflects this, from the title to the setting of the lyrics. Doing everything ourselves is not just necessary: it’s important to us, as it allows us to truly create our own world.”

Modern English Decoration is set for release on June 2nd via Tough Love / Associated Electronic Recordings.

Ulrika Spacek - Modern English Decoration

Live Dates

22 – Sebright Arms, London
27 – The Art School, Glasgow (supporting Slowdive)
28 – Arts Club, Liverpool  (supporting Slowdive)
29 – Portsmouth Psych Fest

30 – Festevol, Liverpool

14 – The Lexington, London

04 – OFF Festival, Katowice


Photo: Anya Broido