Glasgow’s Washington Irving have just released a video for brand new single, ‘We Are All Going To Die‘, and are currently on tour with Titus Andronicus.

‘We Are All Going To Die’ is a massive foot-stomper of a record that was written following a six month period, where the band had found themselves individually scattered around rural Scotland.

“The whole point of this song is to unite people”, explains Joseph Black (lead vocals/guitar). “The lyrics start off very personally but develop into wider humanity; we recruited a bunch of musicians we hadn’t really met before to help with backing vocals when we were recording in the US. The feeling of camaraderie while 20 strangers drunkenly sing “we are all going to die” is completely overwhelming.”

As for the video concept, Chris McGarry (drums) said, “With the help of our friends, and some former members of the band, we put together this video to convey the dichotomies present in the lyrics and the song – happy people singing about gruesome death. Plus, I thought it’d nice to bring out the Catch-22 vibe with some old stock footage, which was also a nice full circle for us as the name of the band is a reference to a passage in Catch-22.”

Having kicked off the tour at London’s Village Underground last week – and already stormed their way through Bristol, Brighton, Oxford and Birmingham – the band are set to play Manchester’s Deaf Institute this evening, finishing up in Belfast on November 25th.

Washington Irving are completed by Martin Anfield (guitar/backing vocals), Kieran Heather (guitar/bass/backing vocals) and Rory MacDonald (bass/backing vocals).

‘We Are All Going To Die’ is out now via Naked Emperor Records.

Remaining tour dates…

11 – Deaf Institute, Manchester*
12 – Kazimer, Liverpool*
13 – Stereo, Glasgow*
14 – Beacons Metro Festival, Leeds*
15 – Hagglers Corner, Sheffield (Headline Show)
16 – Bodega Social Club, Nottingham*
22 – The Hanger, Dublin*
23 – Cyprus Avenue, Cork*​
24 – Rosin Dubh, Galway*​
25 – Empire Music Hall, Belfast*

*w/Titus Andronicus


Words: Emily Jukes