Danish electronic duo, Slowes, prepare to release their emotionally loaded debut EP, Times, later this month. Having signed to Distiller Records in 2016, the Copenhagen band are on the verge of a breakthrough. The pair first emerged last year with their debut single ‘I Need You’ and have since developed a reputation for both their recorded output and live performances.

Across Times’ six tracks the duo show a natural aptitude for writing emotionally powerful and musically diverse songs. ‘I Need You’ set the tone with its synth heavy, future soul sound and this aesthetic is explored more fully across Times. ‘Enough’ is a rich electro-pop investigation of the ups and downs of love and relationships, which is effortlessly simple yet instantly captivates and enthrals. The rest of the EP follows suit, low tempo but rich in melodies which are indebted to the sheen of the Eighties but complemented by sampling styles and vocal effects that owe as much to the likes of James Blake.

The music is backed by a strong artistic vision, with the videos for ‘(Heartbreak:Again)’ and ‘Times’ serving as visual introductions to the lead single ‘Anymore’ and offer insight into the characters behind the music. They act as an exploration of the power of human connection and the impact of loneliness and solitude. ‘Times’ is a dark spoken word led track which skitters and pulsates across its short but intense two minute running time, whilst ‘(Heatbreak:Again)’ is a glitchy track in the vein of Gallant or Khalid. Both act as support pieces to the centre piece of the EP as ‘Anymore’ stands as the clear standout track, and the one which should propel Slowes towards mainstream recognition.

Speaking of the videos, lead singer Jack Kilburn says, “all together the three parts make up a film about the existential solitude, not necessary loneliness, in which three different characters meet each other in their wanderings. You might say it’s a film about the cohesion between lonely wanderers; about being alone together.”

Slowes are Kilburn (vocals) and Anders Hamann (drums) and the EP brings together a fantastic team of contributors, with production handled by the duo alongside Christian Alex Petersen, whilst the EP was mixed by Ben Baptie (Arcade Fire, Adele and Lapsley) and mastered by Mandy Parnell (Jamie XX, Shura, Daughter).

Times is set to be released via Distiller Records on May 26th.


Words: Will Sutton
Photo: Tom Spray