Beach Baby have just released a new video for latest single, ‘U R’, ahead of upcoming debut album, No Mind No Money, out on September 2nd via Island Records.

The London four-piece have built up a tightly-sealed, vaguely surreal world of their own, with co-vocalists and guitarists Ollie and Lawrence originally meeting outside a Halloween party, at the student bar, where Lawrence was disconcertingly dressed like Malcolm McDowell in Stanley Kubrick’s A Clockwork Orange. Inhabiting a character’s headspace proved to be cathartic for the four-piece, and extended to the fantastical, John Hughes and Virgin-Suicides-inspired visuals which accompany Beach Baby’s music (as seen below).

Beach Baby’s touchstones have now evolved to include seminal acts on both sides of the Atlantic – from Parquet Courts and Mac DeMarco, to Ariel Pink and cult lo-fi artist, Cleaners From Venus. The aptly-titled No Mind No Money touches frequently on those less-glamorous uncertainties of post-campus life: apathy, escapism, and the distance between your own future and the iconic bands or movies you grew up on, having each supported themselves throughout this creatively-intense period with make-ends-meet jobs, which included working in burger joints, ‘charity muggers’ and, randomly, working as a script reader for production companies like Icon.

“We hope that it manages to be both playful and sincere,” said the band, speaking of the new album. “Often the lightness of some of the melodies and harmonies belie some slightly murkier lyrical sketches. But to us, the record feels like a collection of narratives which explore common themes of loneliness and malaise, ecstasy and ego.”

Ultimately tracing the sensation of becoming a grown up, and all the challenges that brings nowadays, No Mind No Money is a colourful, summer-ready record in which darker, colder times linger only slightly out of shot.

An extensive world tour has also been confirmed today, with the band supporting Beaty Heart around the US in September, before playing their own series of headline dates across Europe (including an album launch show at London’s Scala on September 9th), in addition to upcoming festival slots at Reading & Leeds and Festival Number 6.

Beach Baby are completed by Ollie (vocalist/guitarist), Lawrence (vocalist/guitarist), Shep (drums) and Iraklis (bass).

09 – London, Scala (Album Launch Show)
14 – Allston, MA Great Scott*
15 – Toronto, ON The Garrison*
16 – Chicago, IL Beat Kitchen*
17 – Minneapolis, MN 7th Street Entry*
20 – Vancouver, BC Cobalt*
21 – Seattle, WA Sunset*
22 – Portland, OR Holocene*
23 – San Francisco, CA Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop*
24 – Los Angeles, CA Resident*
26 – Washington, DC DC9*
27 – Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brenda’s*
29 – Brooklyn, NY Baby’s All Right*
30 – New York, NY Berlin*
* w/ Beaty Heart

07 – Southampton, Joiners
08 – Brighton, Patterns
09 – Norwich, Waterfront (Studio)
10 – Paris, Badaboum (supporting Genghar)
11 – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
12 – York, The Crescent
13 – Newcastle, Think Tank
15 – Glasgow, Stereo
17 – Leeds, Wardrobe
18 – Liverpool, Studio 2
19 – Manchester, Deaf Institute
21 – Sheffield, Leadmill
25 – Amsterdam, Sugar Factory
26 – Rotterdam, V11
27 – Eindhoven, Stroomhuis
29 – Brussels, Witloof Bar
30 – Cologne, MTC
31 – Berlin, Szimpla

03 – Munich, Unter Deck
04 – Vienna, Chelsea